#Fitspiration: Matilda Finnegan

Hello crunchy kids!

Can you believe that February is well on it’s way, how did that happen?! Like many others I started the year with a motivational bang, getting majorly stuck into my new years resolutions as soon as the clock struck 12. Somewhere between number 1 “Caring less about what other people think about me”, and number 3 “Drink a green smoothie every day” I have lost sight of resolution number 2 “Get fit”. I am definitely in need of some old fashioned #fitspiration and what better way to help me get into shape than to speak to a Lorna Jane ambassador, Miss World semi-finalist and international model Matilda Finnegan. With one of the most amaze bodies I’ve ever seen, Matilda shared with me her secrets to body success.

Matilda Finnegan

Matilda your body is absolutely amazing! Do you feel diet or exercise is more important in staying healthy?

Thank you, I work my butt off to try look good. I aim to eat as healthy as I possibly can, but being in the model industry it is very easy to get sucked into the unhealthy ways to try and be a unrealistic size. So every now and then, I indulge in chocolate goodness! It’s all about balance and enjoying life 🙂

How do you keep motivated to stay in such great shape?

Instagram – as silly as it sounds. It’s true. #Fitspiration is the ultimate way to get you moving and be inspired by some amazing people who have changed their ways and now motivate the world!

Lorna Jane

Do you have a favourite power smoothie or treat to keep you going on a long day or shoot?

I’ll be honest, I try not to drink too much water before a shoot – with my body, it bloats me. However, the night before I drink lots of water and eat blueberries and 1 slice of cheese with honey 🙂 it helps my skin and makes me feel fresh the next morning. If I am just hanging around the house, I usually just go my basic: spinach, kale, green apples, chia seeds, honey, a teaspoon of vital greens & lastly whatever I have left over in the fridge I think may work!

Matilda Finnegan Lorna Jane

Your also a beach girl! What is your relationship like with the ocean?

I have pretty much lived on the Northern Beaches of Sydney all my life. Learning to swim by volunteers at my local rock pool, I graduated and joined a surf club with my family. Enjoying Saturday Rock look swims & Sunday nippers, I developed a strong connection to water. The surf just relaxes me, whether it be a quick dip or a surf with my gfs – I have to love near the beach. Otherwise I go a little stir crazy!

What does eating clean and organic mean to you?

Whatever swims, walks or grows you can eat it. As unappetising as that sounds – the best things for your body are red meat, chicken, vegetables & fish. Clean eating help any body moving, breathing easy and staying healthy! It’s such a vital process of good health, now more than ever with the greater volume of pollution and our busy lifestyles! It’s so easy to jump in your car and go to the drive through at Maccas. Clean eating is all about preparation and treating your body like the temple it is!

I personally have cheat meals every now and then, but being a model, my body is my work so I have to take good care of it!

Matilda Finnegan Instagram

Leave a comment