Sesame Oil: Get the JLo Glow

I love moisturising my skin, and given the chance I would bathe in the stuff like a baby walrus splashing around out at sea. The issue I’ve been having is that after a few hours in the summer sun or winter chill, my skin would become dry again and needing further treatment. I would often stop and think wow my skin must be so thirsty and high class drink up all this expensive moisturiser! But wait a minute, where is it all going?

baby walrus

After a while the empty bottles in my recycling bin were stacking up. Could this really be healthy putting litres of chemicals all over my body? I stared to question my beauty routine and budget, and after reading a very inspiring post from a Gerson Cancer survivor who said “I don’t put anything on my body that I wouldn’t eat” it then hit me, how could I preach about only eating organics and living a healthy life when I was subliminally consuming masses of processed manufactured chemicals every day in my moisturisers. No more!

After doing my research I settled for the Queen of all oils, Sesame. Organic cold presses Sesame oil from your local organic store is around $9.95 a bottle, you can cover your entire body every day and a bottle will last you a month. Cha-ching savings! I use sesame oil as an all over face and body moisturiser, first thing in the morning and then night time after a shower.

Sesame seeds and oil

Within 2 weeks of using sesame oil on my body, a chronic skin condition which a doctor once told me was “erect hair follicles” (random I know) on my arms was gone. The raised red rashes on my upper arms that I have had since I was a kid was now smooth and no longer apparent, my summer tan was lasting  longer and my skin tone was more even. I could apply sesame oil in the morning and still have hydrated looking skin 12 hours later. I was not only saving hundreds of dollars I was feeding my skin a tasty chemical-free treat and the results were superb. In my mind it looked something like this..

Jennifer Lopez

It’s not just the physical benefits of sesame oil that has me hooked but also the internal wonders it is doing for my body. As one of the oldest cultivated seeds, sesame also helps combat diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, gum disease and has some great anti-bacterial properties that really help with skin conditions such as psoriasis, eczema, fungus and rashes.

If you stop and think, would you eat the  moisturiser you are currently using on your skin? You would probably vomit. So maybe it’s time to look for a cleaner, natural and cheaper alternative to processed package moisturisers like sesame oil.

Get some!

Leave a comment